Sibling surprise in Pies best and fairest

Josh Daicos has claimed bragging rights over his brother after closing out a glittering campaign with a maiden Copeland Trophy win as Collingwood’s club champion.

The All-Australian pair were neck-and-neck for most of the count before the elder Daicos streaked ahead of Nick following his knee fracture in round 21, earning the coveted honour of best and fairest in a premiership season.

The wingman was rewarded for his career-best season, in which he played all 27 games and booted 16 goals with an average of 25 disposals per game.

Daicos, 24, was the Magpies’ youngest best and fairest winner since Brodie Grundy in 2018.

Brayden Maynard tied with Nick Daicos for second, only four votes ahead of first-year Magpie Tom Mitchell, who polled strongly despite a form slump in July that led to him twice being picked as the sub in the second half of the season.

Five-time winner Scott Pendlebury rounded out the top five after another superb season, with the injury-free seasons of the veteran and his teammates Isaac Quaynor, Jack Crisp and Brody Mihocek leaving All-Australian centre half-back Darcy Moore and star midfielder Jordan De Goey on the edge of the top 10 despite dominant seasons.

One-game defender Jakob Ryan was named the Magpies’ best first-year player, while Maynard won the Darren Millane Memorial Trophy as best clubman for the second straight year.

Beau McCreery claimed the Gavin Brown award for best defensive player, with Jack Crisp claiming the Bob Rose award as Collingwood’s best finals performer.


1. Josh Daicos (301 votes)

2. Nick Daicos and Brayden Maynard (287)

4. Tom Mitchell (283)

5. Scott Pendlebury (282)

6. Isaac Quaynor (267)

7. Jack Crisp (258)

8. Brody Mihocek (254)

9. Darcy Moore (253)

10. Jordan De Goey (249)

Other Award Winners:

Gordon Coventry Award – Leading goalkicker – Brody Mihocek

Harry Collier Trophy – Best first-year player – Jakob Ryan

Darren Millane Memorial Trophy – Best clubman – Brayden Maynard

Gavin Brown Award – Defensive pressure – Beau McCreery

Bob Rose Award – Best player in finals – Jack Crisp

Simon Prestigiacomo Side-by-Side Award – Josh Fraser

Jack Hellier Award – (Best VFL clubman) – Lachlan Tardrew

Joseph Wren Trophy – (VFL best and fairest) – Campbell Hustwaite

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button