NZ vs AUS: Trent Boult returns as New Zealand announce squad for Australia T20Is

Trent Boult has been included in the squad for the upcoming T20I series against Australia as the pacer makes his return to the side for the first time since November 2022.

Boult has been included in the squad for the second and third games of the series as Tim Southee’s workload management has been taken into consideration by the Blackcaps.

Apart from Boult, Rachin Ravindra and Josh Clarkson have also been included in a strong 14-member squad. The paternity leave for Kane Williamson and a foot injury to Daryl Mitchell has paved the way for the inclusion of Clarkson into the team, who is a powerful all-rounder yet to be capped in the shortest format of the game by the Blackcaps.

New Zealand squad for Australia T20I series: Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (games 2 & 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson*, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (game 1).

Michael Bracewell and Jimmy Neesham were unavailable for selection as they were dealing with respective injuries. The team will be captained by Mitchell Santner and the squad is identical to the one which defeated Pakistan 4-1 recently. The only change sees Ben Sears make way for Lockie Ferguson. \

Australia squad sees Cummins, Starc and Hazlewood

Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood returned to the squad as Australia named a power-packed 15-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand.

Cummins, Hazlewood and Starc have returned to the T20 setup after last playing in the format back in the 2022 T20 World Cup on home soil.

The team will be captained by Mitchell Marsh and will also include David Warner.

Australia squad for New Zealand T20Is

Mitchell Marsh (c), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Published On:

Feb 13, 2024

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button