India vs Pakistan set to be marquee clash as ICC releases full schedule for T20 World Cup 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the schedule for the T20 World Cup 2024, which is set to be a historic event as it will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States of America from June 1 to June 29, 2024 in Barbados. USA vs Canada will be playing the first match of the tournament. This marks the first time that an ICC World Cup tournament will feature matches played in the United States. 55 matches will be played across 9 venues in the tournament.

The 2024 edition of the T20 World Cup will see an expansion in the number of participating teams, with 20 national teams competing, up from 16 in the previous tournament. The teams will initially be divided into four groups of five, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super 8 stage. The Super 8 stage will then consist of two groups of four, from which the top two teams will move on to the knockout stage, culminating in the semi-finals and final.

India and Pakistan have been drawn in the same group in the tournament. The most anticipated clash of India vs Pakistan will be played on June 9 in New York. The semi-finals of the tournament will be played on 26 and 27 June in Guyana and Trinidad respectively. The final will be hosted by Barbados on June 29.

India’s Schedule in T20 World Cup 2024

India vs Ireland – June 5 in New York

India vs Pakistan – June 9 in New York

India vs USA – June 12 in New York

India vs Canada – June 15 in Florida

Groups in T20 World Cup 2024

20 teams have be drawn into 4 groups of 5 each. Here’s how the groups stack up in the 2024 World Cup.

Group A – India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B – England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C – New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D – South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Stadiums Confirmed So Far

Amongst the highly anticipated matches, the India vs Pakistan T20 World Cup 2024 clash will draw the most attention, and it will be played on 9 June in New York.

Several stadiums have been confirmed as venues for the tournament, including Broward County in Florida, Grand Prairie in Dallas, and Eisenhower Park in New York for matches in the US. In the West Indies, venues include Arnos Vale Stadium in St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda, Kensington Oval in Barbados, Providence Stadium in Guyana, and Daren Sammy Cricket Ground in Saint Lucia.

Matches were set to be played in Dominica as well, but the country pulled out of the event late in 2023.

Published By:

Kingshuk Kusari

Published On:

Jan 5, 2024

Tune In

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button